ASIAC annual conference – Rome, 5-6 December 2019 – Call for papers [updated]

[N.B.: the conference will take place in Rome at Università degli Studi – Roma Tre as detailed in this call, and not at the University of Macerata as initially announced]

On Thursday 5 December and Friday 6 December 2019, the Interdepartmental Research Centre on Central-Eastern Europe, Russia, and Eurasia of Università degli Studi – Roma Tre, will host the annual conference of the Italian Association for the study of Central Asia and the Caucasus.

The aim of this edition of the annual conference is to foster the scientific dialogue between scholars working on these areas, from Italy as well as from abroad. The topics of the conference include, but are not limited to, such disciplines as history, linguistics, literature, politics, archeology, geography.

We strongly encourage participants to submit thematic sessions including participants from different universities or research institutions; the conference sessions will generally combine three or four accepted proposals and one moderator.

All proposals should include a title and a short abstract (about 200 words, and in any case no more than one page), affiliation, and contact information for each of the speakers and should be sent by June 15th 2019 to the following email address: [email protected].

The working language of the conference will be English.

The notification of acceptance will be communicated by July 8th 2019.

Attendance is free, but all speakers have to register and pay the conference fee (50 euro for professors and academics, 25 euro for students or independent researchers); follow this link for payment details.


Deadline for proposals: 15 June 2019;

Notification of acceptance: 8 July 2019;

Registration and fee payment: 6 September 2019 (lack of payment will result in removal from the programme);

Publication of the final programme: 30 September 2019.

This conference is organised by professor Simona Merlo of Università degli Studi – Roma Tre and Asiac’s board of directors: Vittorio Springfield Tomelleri, Giorgio Comai, Carlo Frappi, Fabio Indeo, Francesco Mazzucotelli, and Paolo Ognibene